Champions LeagueReal Madrid FC

Five reasons Why did VAR rule out Benzema’s goal for Real Madrid in Champions League final vs Liverpool?

Due to a close call, the Frenchman was denied his 16th goal of the competition.

Don't Miss Any Football Moment... Join Us. Now
Join Us Now

Karim Benzema felt he had continued his incredible run in front of goal for Real Madrid in the Champions League until VAR ruled his opening strike offside.

In a first half in which Liverpool dominated, the Frenchman converted one of the few chances that fell to the Merengue.

However, he was ruled to have been in an illegal position when he struck, leaving the score at 0-0 at halftime.

Why was Benzema’s goal disallowed?
Benzema scored what he thought was his 16th goal of the Champions League campaign in the waning minutes of the first half.

A blunder in the Liverpool defense gave the Frenchman a chance from close range, which he easily converted.

However, referee Clement Turpin quickly signaled an offside, and VAR confirmed the ruling.

While the final touch before Benzema’s finish appeared to come from Fabinho, it was ruled as an error, implying that the striker was actually offside.

Watch as Benzema’s goal is controversially called out.


For More Update, Join Us on Telegram Now
Join Us Now
Back to top button