Man United FC

Sheffield Utd 2 vs 1 ManUtd – Man Utd’s first-ever Premier League line-up vs Sheff Utd includes unrecognizable star

As the football world gears up for another intense clash between Manchester United and Sheffield United at Bramall Lane, it’s worth revisiting the history that makes this fixture iconic.

Don't Miss Any Football Moment... Join Us. Now
Join Us Now

Back in 1992, Sheffield United handed Manchester United their first-ever Premier League loss, with the inaugural goal of the Premier League scored in that memorable match. Blades legend Brian Deane etched his name in history by finding the net just five minutes into the game, ultimately completing a brace. Although Mark Hughes managed to pull one back for the Red Devils at Bramall Lane, it wasn’t enough to secure a win for Sir Alex Ferguson’s side.

But what about the members of Manchester United’s first-ever Premier League XI? Let’s take a look at where they are today.

  1. Peter Schmeichel: Already a world-class goalkeeper during his Premier League debut, Schmeichel went on to win numerous titles with Manchester United, including five Premier League championships and the Champions League. Today, he works as a pundit, and his son Kasper made history by winning the Premier League title with Leicester in 2016.
  2. Denis Irwin: Another stalwart, Irwin stayed with Manchester United until 2002, amassing numerous trophies, including seven Premier League titles and the Champions League. He now shares his insights as a pundit for Manchester United’s media team.
  3. Steve Bruce: In 1992, Bruce was at the peak of his powers, leading Manchester United to their first league title in 27 years in 1993. After leaving Old Trafford in 1996, he embarked on a remarkable managerial career, overseeing multiple clubs.
  4. Gary Pallister: Pallister was Bruce’s trusted partner in defense and remained at Manchester United until 1998. After his retirement, he transitioned to a career as a pundit.
  5. Clayton Blackmore: After dealing with injuries following the 1992/93 season, Blackmore embarked on a journey that saw him play for several clubs, including Barnsley, Notts County, and Bangor City. He later transitioned to coaching as an academy coach at Old Trafford.
  6. Andrei Kanchelskis: Kanchelskis continued his football journey after leaving Manchester United in 1995, playing for various clubs and eventually retiring in 2006. He then ventured into management and currently serves as the general manager of Kazakh club Tobol.
  7. Darren Ferguson: Sir Alex’s son started his career at Manchester United but was later transferred to Wolves. He found success as a manager, achieving numerous promotions in his coaching career, primarily with Peterborough.
  8. Paul Ince: Ince was surprisingly sold by Ferguson in 1995 but continued playing at the highest level and later turned to coaching. He’s managed several clubs and achieved success, including winning the League Two title and EFL Trophy with MK Dons in 2008.
  9. Ryan Giggs: Giggs enjoyed a remarkable playing career that extended for another 22 years after that inaugural Premier League fixture. He went on to coach Manchester United and the Welsh national team.
  10. Mark Hughes: The scorer of Manchester United’s first Premier League goal continued playing until 2002 and ventured into management. His managerial career spanned several clubs in the Premier League.
  11. Brian McClair: McClair remained at Old Trafford until 1998 and later joined Motherwell. After retiring, he ventured into coaching and even had a podcast called “Life With Brian.”

Notably, the football journey of these legends has taken them on diverse paths after their playing careers, demonstrating the enduring impact they’ve had on the beautiful game.

For More Update, Join Us on Telegram Now
Join Us Now
Back to top button