NewsMan United FC

Reason why Garnacho, Mainoo and Hojlund are not in Manchester United’s 25-man Premier League squad list

Manchester United's 25-Man Squad for the Premier League Season Announced

Manchester United has officially unveiled its 25-man squad for the upcoming Premier League season, and upon initial inspection, a few notable names are absent from the list.

Don't Miss Any Football Moment... Join Us. Now
Join Us Now

Following the closure of the transfer window, clubs are mandated to submit an updated squad to the league’s governing body, including any changes to shirt numbers. United has completed this requirement, as have all other top-flight clubs.

Interestingly, some of United’s young talents, including Alejandro Garnacho, Kobbie Mainoo, and the £73 million signing Rasmus Hojlund, were not included in the primary squad. However, fans need not worry, as these three players will be eligible to participate in the league this season.

This is due to the flexibility provided by Premier League guidelines for younger players. In addition to naming their 25-man senior player squad, teams have the option to submit a supplementary list of Under-21 players who are also eligible to feature in league matches without being included in the official squad.

For the primary squad, clubs are required to name up to 25 players, with a restriction of no more than 17 non-homegrown players. United comfortably adheres to this limit.

As for the Under-21 list, players must have been born on or after January 1, 2002, to qualify. This criterion applies to Garnacho, Mainoo, and Hojlund. However, Uruguayan winger Facundo Pellistri, who has been added to the primary list, was born just 12 days before the cutoff date for young players.

The confirmed 25-man squad with an asterisk (*) indicating homegrown players is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Onana, Bayindir, Heaton*.

Defenders: Lindelof, Maguire*, Martinez, Malacia, Reguilon, Varane, Dalot, Shaw*, Wan-Bissaka*, Evans*.

Midfielders: Amrabat, Mount*, Fernandes, Eriksen, Casemiro, Van de Beek, McTominay*.

For More Update, Join Us on Telegram Now
Join Us Now
Back to top button