Arsenal FCBarcelona FCChampions LeagueChelsea FCEuropa LeagueFixturesLive ScoreLive StreamLiverpool FCMan United FCManchester CityNewsPlayers

Messi Out, Ronaldo In – 2022 Ballon d’Or nominees unveiled

For the first time, Argentine football sensation Lionel Messi was not among the Ballon d’Or nominees, which included Robert Lewandowski, Karim Benzema, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Mohamed Salah.

Don't Miss Any Football Moment... Join Us. Now Join Us Now


The 30 players competing for the prestigious prize in 2022 were announced on the website of France Football magazine.


The Ballon d’Or, often known as the Golden Ball Award, is given to the finest player in the sport.


Messi, 35, a forward for Paris Saint-Germain (PSG), has won the trophy seven times in a row, including in 2021.


However, for the first time since 2005, the former Barcelona player was not nominated for the trophy.


Neymar, another PSG star from Brazil, was also omitted from the vote, like Messi.


However, Ronaldo of Manchester United, Lewandowski of Barcelona, Benzema of Real Madrid, and Salah of Liverpool was among the other nominees.


Ronaldo, 37, of Portugal, is a five-time winner, having won in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, and 2017.


The Ballon d’Or ceremony will take place on October 17 at the Théâtre du Chatelet in Paris.


30 men’s award nominees


Fabinho, Darwin Nunez, Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Joshua Kimmich, Sadio Mane (Bayern Munich), Bernardo Silva, Riyad Mahrez, Phil Foden, Kevin De Bruyne, Joao Cancelo, Erling Haaland (Manchester City), Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona), Son Heung-min (Paris Saint-Germain)


Nominees who are women


Alexia Putellas (Barcelona), Wendie Renard, Ada Hegerberg, Selma Bacha, Catarina Macario, Christiane Endler (Olympique Lyon), Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave), Beth Mead, Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal), Marie-Antoinette Katoto, Kadidiatou Diani (Paris Saint-Germain), Millie Bright, Sam Kerr (Chelsea (Washington Spirit)


Trophée Yachine (Best Goalkeeper)


Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Ederson (Manchester City), Mike Maignan (AC Milan), Edouard Mendy (Chelsea), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid), Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt), Hugo Lloris (Manchester City) (Tottenham Hotspur)


Trophee Kopa (Best youngster)


Karim Adeyemi (Borussia Dortmund), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Gavi (Barcelona), Ryan Gravenberch (Bayern Munich), Nuno Mendes (Paris Saint-Germain), Josko Gvardiol (RB Leipzig), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen)

For More Update, Join Us on Telegram Now Join Us Now
Back to top button

Discover more from ManUtdFc Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading

%d bloggers like this: