Man United FC

Man United Three lions ready to roar: Gareth Southgate ‘s England World Cup squad for Qatar 2022

James Maddison and Ben Wilson are two of the more notable additions to England's World Cup roster for Qatar.

On Thursday afternoon, manager Gareth Southgate released the final 26-man team for the competition, which begins next Friday (November 20).

Don't Miss Any Football Moment... Join Us. Now
Join Us Now

Supporters were clamoring for in-form Leicester offensive midfielder James Maddison to be included in the squad, despite the fact that he has only played for the senior national team once in 2019.

England great and former Leicester striker Gary Lineker praised his selection, saying Maddison “is the best example of forcing yourself into a squad at the very least, by the sheer brilliance of your performances.”

Callum Wilson of Newcastle has also been in fine form this season, but he was last named to an England team three years ago.

Meanwhile, some supporters may be shocked to see Marcus Rashford in the team, given that he hasn’t featured for England since missing a penalty in Euros final last summer, which was followed by a slump in form.

The Manchester United forward has been back to his best in recent weeks, and he edges out clubmate Jadon Sancho for a spot in the team.

AC Milan defender Fikayo Tomori, Roma forward Tammy Abraham, Brentford forward Ivan Toney, Liverpool defender Joe Gomez, and Southampton midfielder James Ward are among those who can feel unlucky to have missed out.


The whole squad is listed below, along with the players’ club teams.

Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle), and Aaron Ramsdale are the goalkeepers ( Arsenal )

Harry Maguire (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Conor Coady (Everton), Ben White (Manchester United) (Arsenal)

Declan Rice (West Ham), Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Man City), James Maddison (Leicester), and Conor Gallagher are among the midfielders (Chelsea)

Attackers: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Callum Wilson (Manchester City) (Newcastle)

For More Update, Join Us on Telegram Now
Join Us Now
Back to top button